Blurred Lines 

by Lauren Layne

Synopsis

This is a Standalone Romance.

Parker Blanton and Ben Olsen have been best friends since meeting in freshman year at college. They have long got over the ribbing and constant questions from friends on how platonic their relationship can really be, and now six years later they are still as close as ever, sharing an apartment and carpooling to their respective jobs.

Of course the friendship they have doesn't mean that they are similar in any way. Parker is in a committed relationship with her college boyfriend Lance and well Ben is total manwhore extraordinaire, often using Parker as an excuse to get rid of clingers the morning after the night before. It works for them though. They are each other biggest supporters and honest to a fault with each other. Until…

When Parker is dumped by Lance out of the blue, she starts to wonder if indeed Ben has the right idea when it comes to sex. Surely no-strings sex is easier than the hard work involved in a relationship. Suddenly Parker begins to wonder if actually the best person to do this with is the person she trusts most in the world and who she would never get romantic notions about. Surely Ben has had enough sex to warrant a sampling of his wide ranging experience and scratch an itch that needs a good deal of attention.

So when they take the plunge and decide to give it a go, will they come out the other side still believing that men and women can be just friends? – Well you need to read to find the answer to that question yourself.

LOVED this book. This is the first time I've read a Lauren Layne book and I have to say this writer has such a humorous, yet touching way of writing. Within the first chapter I was absolutely hooked. This book is full of ups and down for both characters. Yes, it is a light hearted read with real LOL moments, but she has also put honest emotions in the book as well. It makes for a really well balanced read, with a depth that maybe you wouldn't expect from what is essentially a romantic comedy style story.

Parker and Ben are just wicked. I loved their banter and the lightness of their friendship. But don’t let that fool you. These two would do anything for each other. When they cross the line of friendship, new emotions, feelings and a whole new territory comes into play. I loved reading about how they navigated their way through it.

A brilliant introduction to a new author for me. I now look forward to reading more from the very talented Ms Layne. A MUST READ for any hopeless romantics out there. 

 

Emma - 4.5 Crowns

In a novel that's perfect for fans of Abbi Glines and Jessica Sorensen, USA Today bestselling author Lauren Layne delivers a sexy take on the timeless question: Can a guy and a girl really be “just friends”?

When Parker Blanton meets Ben Olsen during her freshman year of college, the connection is immediate—and platonic. Six years later, they're still best friends, sharing an apartment in Portland's trendy Northwest District as they happily settle into adult life. But when Parker's boyfriend dumps her out of the blue, she starts to wonder about Ben's no-strings-attached approach to dating. The trouble is, even with Ben as her wingman, Parker can't seem to get the hang of casual sex—until she tries it with him.

The arrangement works perfectly . . . at first. The sex is mind-blowing, and their friendship remains as solid as ever, without any of the usual messy romantic entanglements. But when Parker's ex decides he wants her back, Ben is shocked by a fierce stab of possessiveness. And when Ben starts seeing a girl from work, Parker finds herself plagued by unfamiliar jealousy. With their friendship on the rocks for the first time, Parker and Ben face an alarming truth: Maybe they can't go back. And maybe, deep down, they never want to. 

Perusing Princesses
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • Blogger Long Shadow
  • unnamed.png
  • Google+ Long Shadow
  • Tumblr Long Shadow
  • Pinterest Long Shadow
  • Instagram App Icon