Becoming Calder by Mia Sheridan



There is a place in modern day America with no electricity, no plumbing, and no modern conveniences. In this place, there is no room for dreams, no space for self-expression, and no tolerance for ambition.

In this place, there is a boy with the body of a god and the heart of a warrior. He is strong and faithful and serves his family honorably. But he dares to dream of more.

In this place, there is a girl with the face of an angel and a heart full of courage. To her family, she is the vision of obedient perfection. But she dares to want that which she has been told can never be hers. 

Becoming Calder is the story of good versus evil, fear versus bravery, and the truth that the light of love has always found its way into even the darkest of places . . . From the beginning of time, to the end of the world.

THIS IS THE FIRST PART IN A TWO-PART SIGN OF LOVE SERIES INSPIRED BY AQUARIUS. THE SECOND PART, FINDING EDEN, WILL RELEASE SIMULTANEOUSLY. New Adult Contemporary Romance: Due to strong language and sexual content, this book is not intended for readers under the age of 18

Kelly - 5 Crowns


Becoming Calder is a story of belief, survival, hope, and love. A story of

finding solace and peace with oneself, even if it means breaking the rules

and going against everything you were taught to believe. When the heart

speaks, learn to listen. When your inner voice whispers, follow its sound.

Eden and Calder live in a world distant from others. Modern America may only

be a stones throw away but for those residing within Acadia, it is nothing

more than a breeding ground for sin; a pit of despair and one better left



Eden was only ten when Hector took her into his home on the hill and taught

her the Acadian ways. For she is destined. The girl with the eclipse

birthmark will lead them all into the fields of Elysium. When the floods

come, she is their light, their saviour and Hector's queen.


Calder Raines is a worker. He lives in Acadia in cramped lodgings, serving

Hector as his water bearer. The water is blessed and washes away the sins of

others so they can be reborn and adopt the Acadian ways. No electricity, no

modern conveniences, they eat what they grow and wash within the cold lake.

They make the best of what they have, and are provided with love and

acceptance. A promise of peace and eternal rest with their people.


At only ten, Calder is accepting of his fate, but he has never seen an angel

walk the earth, not until that day when Eden arrived and everything started

to change.




Mia Sheridan took an incredible gamble with this book but I have to say, it

really did pay off. I'm not one for flying the religion flag, I don't enjoy

stories that preach or push a personal belief, and even though this book

focuses strongly on a prophesied foretelling within a cult community the

real story here is one of strength and resilience. Of friendship and love.

Of survival and trust.


Calder and Eden are a modern day Adam and Eve. They are the forbidden fruit.

Their escalating feelings for another a sin that would defy everything they

were ever taught. But when the heart dictates, their belief starts to waver.

And when their union is met with brutal consequences, it makes them question

the nobility and sincerity of their leader... the man they call father, and

the council that rule by his side.


Stealing moments away together at their secret spring near the cave is the

only freedom they have, proof that love can be found in the darkest of

places, even if the setting is the most beautiful.


Xander, a lifelong friend is the only one who knows their secret, and he

does his best to keep it locked airtight. But children grow, and along with

it so do their feelings of doubt. And they know that staying together and

breaking free of Acadia, may be the only way forward.


A fight for love. A fight for survival. A fight for freedom.


Becoming Calder is everything I hoped it would be. Mia Sheridan has proved

yet again that she is a force to be reckoned with. Delivering unique and

beautiful stories that reach in and grab a hold of your heart, while

whispering into your soul.


The Sign of Love series is a real testament to the new way of romance.

Self-publishing not only opened the door for Mia, but it brought her door to

me, and my world has become a brighter and more fulfilling place after

having opened it.


Finding Eden is a continuation to this beautiful story, and I can't wait to

read it because this really is a story of two-parts. From childhood to young

adulthood, the journey has been arduous, but after that ending, I think its

safe to say, that this may only just be the beginning...


You're really not waiting for me to say it are you?


Well okay then...


For the love of the gods and all the stars in the sky...





Emma - 5 Crowns

Part 1 in a 2 part Sign of Love story, this time the inspiration is Aquarius.

So my opening statement has got to be... Mia's stories are the absolute bomb! I love her talent, her imagination and the way she has the ability to draw out every single emotion possible. When I received this book, I admit I was a little nervous. When you have a author on a pedestal you will always worry that their next book just won't meet the high standards you expect from them. Let me say at this point, not only did Mia not disappoint, she blew me away. YES, this book is THAT good!

Becoming Calder is essentially a coming of age story and centres around Calder Raynes and Eden. I struggle at this point to tell you too much as what was so enjoyable to me about reading this book was the very original and unexpected storyline and the world in which Calder and Eden live in. What I can say is that this is a story of love and devotion. Meeting at a very early age, they both instantly know that they share a connection; a soul. Eden is however promised to another, so they meet secretly and infrequently over the years at their special place with their friendship soon turning into more the older they get. True love never runs smoothly and they face some very huge and difficult obstacles in there pursuit of happiness. 

This is a real departure for Mia, a totally different direction and let me tell you she absolutely nails it. As we have come to expect, her characters are multi-faceted and she shows such depth in her story telling. It is so nice to read about a world I have little or no knowledge of. This setting really does offer the story a imaginative and interesting backdrop.

Yes it does and on a cliffy, but don't worry because part 2 Finding Eden is released at the same time. You seriously would not want to wait around for Calder and Eden's conclusion. Let me also assure you that these 2 parts are very necessary and is not a rehash or a pointless continuation that will spread the story to thinly.

This is one of my top reads of 2014. Well done Mia for another special, heart-wrenching and emotional few hours, it was time very well and truly spent.


Elizabeth - 5 Crowns

Princess Mia.... What have you done to me?? I just can't even think... It's so beyond anything I have read... This story... My heart can't even handle it... Sooooo beautiful... 




Perusing Princesses
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • Blogger Long Shadow
  • unnamed.png
  • Google+ Long Shadow
  • Tumblr Long Shadow
  • Pinterest Long Shadow
  • Instagram App Icon